Curli.ness

Staple Products for my 3c/4a Curly Hair

One of the most recurring questions I get asked about my curly hair is…what products do you use?

I’ve realized that as long as I’ve been naturally curly {2 1/2 years} I have yet to list all of my staple products in one place, so here we are.

DeniseNicole Curly Hair Staple Products

I have the following hair properties {definitions can be found at naturallycurly.com}:

  • Curl Pattern: Mixture of 3c & 4a
  • Porosity: Low-Medium
  • Density: High {Thick}
  • Texture: Medium/Coarse
  • Length: Medium
  • Priorities: Moisture, Length

Shampoo 

  • EDEN BodyWorks Peppermint Tea Tree All Natural Shampoo {@walmart <$10}

Cleansing Conditioner

  • Curl Junkie Daily Fix Cleansing Hair Conditioner {curljunkie.com <$20}

Rinse Out Conditioner

  • TRESemmé Naturals Nourishing Moisture Conditioner {my main condish} {@target <$5}
  • Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle Conditioner {@trader joes <$5}

Deep Conditioners

  • Shea Moisture Organic Black Soap Purification Hair Masque {@target/walgreens <$10}

Protein Treatments/Conditioners

  • Curl Junkie Repair Me! – Reconstructive Hair Treatment {curljunkie.com $30}

Leave-in Conditioners

Without Glycerin
  • Curl Junkie Curl Rehab – Strawberry Ice Cream scent {curljunkie.com $20 – $60}
Hair Milks
  • Oyin Handmade Hair Dew {@target <$10}

Stylers

Gels (for Wash and Gos)

  • Kinky Curly Curling Custard {my main} {@target/wholefoods $20 – $30}
  • Camille Rose Naturals Curl Maker* {@target/wholefoods $25}
Cremes & Butters (for Twists & Twist Outs)
  • Whipped Shea Butter {Naptural85 How-to Vid}
  • Miss Jessie”s Curly Buttercreme {this product was given to me and surprisingly I liked it} {@target $20 -$60}

Pomades/Sealants

  • None {at the moment}

Oils

  • Home Health Castor Oil
  • Organic Unrefined Coconut Oil
  • Apricot Oil*
  • SheaMoisture Raw Shea Butter Reconstructive Finishing Elixir
Straightening Products
  • Carol’s Daughter Chocolat Smoothing Blow Dry Cream
Refresher Sprays
(if I use one)
  • SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Hold & Shine Moisture Mist
  • Jane Carter Solution Revitalizing Leave In Conditioner
Hair Tools
  • Denman Brush
  • Tangle Teezer
  • Wide Tooth Comb
  • Spray Bottle {to fill with water}
  • Croc Iron Comb
  • Babyliss Pro 1in Titanium Flat Iron

NOTES:

  • I always add a teaspoon of honey to the SheaMoisture Purification Masque. It adds moisture and extra softness to my hair.
  • I usually wear wash-and-go’s during the summer and twist-outs during the winter.
  • I usually straighten my hair approximately twice a year.
  • I’m no longer using the denman brush or the tangle teezer but felt the need to add it for whoever may be completely new here.
  • The products listed above are products that I repurchase because either I can find them, I can afford them or the quality and consistency is worth the hassle of ordering bulk online.

For the record, please don’t use this as a shopping list. Look at it instead as a consideration list and be mindful of how products work differently depending on the hair properties and types you have.

YOUR TURN! PLEASE COMMENT // WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE CURLY HAIR PRODUCTS?

Leave a Reply

