Bookologist.ness

{Book Review} #Bookologist Wednesday: Becoming Mrs. Right by Sherri L. Lewis

I don’t know about you, but picking up and reading a book written by someone I’ve met and is friends with people I’m friends with is not an everyday occurance for me. So it was with great delight that I checked out Becoming Mrs. Right (Urban Books) by Sherri L. Lewis when I saw it available in my elibrary. As excited as I was to dig in, I had no idea how much of a treat reading this book would really be!

WHAT’S THE BOOK ABOUT?

I’m not one of those people who religiously watch movie trailers or reads the back of a book before I dig in. I like the suspense of watching or reading without any preconceived notion of what is, what I think or what I want to happen. That means I won’t be going into as much detail as I could here {I tend to think everyone is like me and I don’t want to ruin it for you} but I will include the book description to give you a sense of what’s going on:

%title
by Sherri L. Lewis

Shauntae Randall knows she’s not smart or talented at much of anything, but she also knows she’s gorgeous and can handle herself around a man. So, she’s made a career of it. She thought she had struck gold a few years back when she was lucky enough to get pregnant by Devon Wright. She knew they’d get married, he would take care of her and her baby, and she’d be set for life. What Shauntae didn’t know was that it’s much harder to keep a man than it is to catch him. Now she’s lost custody of the child and the child support check and has to go back to hustling.
Shauntae is lucky enough to get herself pregnant by Gary Jackson. She knows she has to figure out how to be a good wife to Gary and a good mother to their child to keep herself in his big, fancy house and his big, fancy car. She has to learn to talk “proper” and say all the right things at the right time. The absolute worst thing is that Shauntae must learn how to be a “church girl.”
When issues with Gary’s ex-wife and kids threaten Shauntae’s “get married and stay married” plan, it’s actually God that helps her out. Shauntae decides that instead of hustling God, she might want to get to know Him. But can an ex-hustler really shed her old ways and become a true Christian, and a good wife and mother?

The book is actually the sequel of another one of Sherri’s books Finding Mrs. Wright (Urban Books) {which I haven’t read yet}. Which means you don’t necessarily need to read one to enjoy the other but  I’m pretty sure, you’ll want to after its all said and done.

WHY SHOULD I READ THIS BOOK?

I can’t tell you my favorite part{s} of the book without spoiling it for you, {email me if you really want to know} but I will tell you why this was a good book!

Generally speaking the book was realistic. I am a stickler for inconsistencies in media. In other words, for me to enjoy myself, the content has to be believable and logical even in the realm of nonficticion. It just has to make sense to me. If not, you’ve already lost me.

Sherri did a good job making sure this book was current and up-to-date with it’s references and she was funny. I love that she added a layer of humor to this seemingly sitcky situation. The books chapters were not too long and ended right when you wanted more, so you’ll keep reading just to see what’s going to happen next.

Sherri also did a good job making sure that the conclusions were not obvious as any good writer would. There were a couple of instances where I thought I knew exactly what the characters were going to do and how they werer going to response and boy was I wrong! I think sometimes it’s easy to get caught up in writing a good story that you forget to keep it balanced in reality, but that didn’t happen here.

There were also a couple of personal reasons I enjoyed this book.

I have always had thoughts of one day writing and publishing a couple or urban novels of my own. That made reading this book that much more enjoyable as it somehow seemed within reach just off the simple fact that Sherri L. Lewis isn’t CS Lewis {someone I’ll never be able to meet in this life}. I sat there and literally felt the desire to write reawaken with me. I was able to experience how awesome it will be to be able to bless someone as much as this blessed me just by being odedient to the calling to write from within.

Lastly, while I can not relate to the full story of Shauntae, as an African American female and single mother of two I can relate enough that some of what was brought to light through the main character really resonated with me deeply. I’m not a crier yet the story brought tears to my eyes, not just once, but a couple of times as a result of me being able to emotional connect with what and how the book was written surrounding issues African American females deal with in this generation. I truly believe I experienced inner healing and received another level of God’s love as a result of reading this book {and not in the self-help book kind of way}!

If you’re not inspired to read this book for yourself, I’m sure you can think of at least one other person who would enjoy it.

I almost forgot, included in the back of the book are some great discussion questions for your book club or small group!

WHAT’S THE ONE QUESTION I STILLED HAVEN’T ANSWERED?

I know by now you’re like… okay Denise, where did you say I could get my hands on a copy? Look no further. Wonder no more. Head to Amazon to order a copy by clicking this link: Becoming Mrs. Right (Urban Books)

And… don’t forget you may be able to check this out from your local library, if not as a physical copy maybe as an electronic one like I did. For more information on how that’s done see my previous post: Did You Know? Public Libraries Offer eBook Checkout 

YOUR TURN //  HAVE OR WOULD YOU READ THIS OR ANY OF SHERRI L LEWIS’S OTHER BOOKS?

Leave a Reply

