Random.ness

Vote for Kyle Pease – Atlanta, GA in the 2014 National Mobility Awareness Month Local Hero contest!

My name is Kyle Pease. I grew up in Atlanta, and at an early age, I was diagnosed with Cerebral Palsy. Some 10,000 Americans are diagnosed with the condition each year, though everyone experiences it differently. My Cerebral Palsy has resulted in a lack of sensation and deceased mobility in all four of my limbs. I live primarily in a wheelchair, but my participation in social events, work and leisure activities have never suffered. What many people don’t know is that I can’t just wake up and get my day started. My life requires around the clock assistance, which is aided by workers and friends that help make my life the huge success it is. These individuals do whatever it takes to help me strive for independence, which I am deeply grateful for. One of the most important aspects of my life is the Kyle Pease Foundation (http://www.kylepeasefoundation.org/).

Located in Georgia, but assisting disabled individuals around the United States, the purpose of my 501(c)3 Foundation is to create awareness and raise funds to promote success for persons with disabilities by providing assistance to meet their individual needs through sports. Regardless of how small or great a disability is, everyone can benefit from the positive effects of sports. In just 3 years since I started the foundation, I personally have seen the life improvements in over 40 children lives. What started as a small dream has the ability to grown into a huge opportunity and I can’t wait to see where I am able to take it. Some of my programs include scholarship opportunities, purchasing of medical equipment or adaptive sports equipment for others or contributing to other organizations that provide similar assistance to disabled persons as well as participating in educational campaigns to create awareness about Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities.

Throughout my life, my family made sure I was included in sports. Sports have helped me become the successful adult that I am and I want to see that success in every child I meet. In 2013, my brother and I completed the Wisconsin 140.6 mile Ironman in 15 hours, 3 minutes. Completing the Ironman was one of the greatest moments of my life. I hope to share this experience with children through the Foundation. Thank you for taking the time to read my story. I always say “Together We Wheel.” Help me continue my dreams.

via Vote for Kyle Pease – Atlanta, GA in the 2014 National Mobility Awareness Month Local Hero contest!.

Leave a Reply

