Hair Regimen & Commonly Used Products

It just dawned on me that after all this time, I haven’t listed my regimen and/or my most commonly used staple products… maybe I have and don’t remember, in any event here ya go!

I complete the following weekly – some do this entire process with their hair sectioned and in twists (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cXBnEJ0LHeA – skip to the 5:00 minute marker)

1. Cleanse – Sulfate free (unless you have silicones in your hair)

  • Kinky Curly – Come Clean – Target
  • As I Am – Coconut CoWash – Sally’s
  • *ON MY PRODUCT WISH LIST* Curl Junkie – Daily Fix Hair Conditioner

2. Condition

  • Tresemme Naturals – Nourishing Moisture Conditioner – Target
  • Any V05 – Moisture Milk Conditioner – Dollar Tree

3. De-tangle & Deep Condition

If my hair is not already sectioned, I section my hair, add deep conditioner, de-tangle, twist and let sit under a plastic cap for at least an hour.

  • Shea Moisture Organic African Black Soap Purification Hair Masque (plus a teaspoon of honey) – Target, Walgreens, CVS
  • Curl Junkie Repair Me! Reconstructive Hair Treatment – protein treatment – Visit www.curljunkie.com to order or find a retailer near you
  • Bee Mine Bee-U-Ti-Ful Deep Conditioner
  • *ON MY PRODUCT WISH LIST* Organicals Deep Conditioning Creme

4. Leave – In Conditioner

  • Curl Junkie Curl Rehab Moisturizing Hair Treatment (Strawberry Ice Cream scent) – Visit www.curljunkie.com to order or find a retailer near you
  • Kinky Curly Knot Today – Target

5. Styler

  • Kinky Curly Curling Custard – Target

Kinky Curly Curling Custard is gummy/snotty like, but I like it! It doesn’t contain glycerin which usually makes my hair feel dry and it defines my curls!

For a while I thought Kinky Curly Knot Today & Curling Custard was the best combination ever but Curl Junkie Curl Rehab is heavenly!

An additional step you can take for extra protection:

6. Seal – lightly coat the hair with oil after styling

  • Jamaican Black Castor Oil – Beauty Supply
  • Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Reconstructive Elixir Spray – Target, Walgreens, CVS

And last but not least, what do you do to get the same look tomorrow?

7. Refresh

  • Shea Moisture Organic Coconut and Hisbicus Hold and Shine Moisture Mist – Target, Walgreens, CVS
  • Jane Carter Solution Revitalizing Leave-In Conditioner – Target
  • Good Ole H20 – in Spray Bottle

Here’s my disclaimer: The above mentioned products and regimen work for me… the key with natural/curly hair is to find what works for you – key ingredients you do/don’t like, the reaction your hair gives etc. This is only an example/suggestion of what to do and how to do it. Hopes this helps! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

