To Coupon or Not To Coupon?

CouponClipping

I had my first real couponing experience today… I say real because I’ve used coupons before, but never have I saved nearly $30…. Yes! You read that right I saved almost $30 today!! And this is just the beginning! While I’m not professing to be an expert… yet… I do want to share some very basics to help make cents (and dollars) out of your couponing…There seem to only really be three keys to couponing…

The first key to couponing is knowing the different types. There are two types of coupons that I know of: manufacturers and store coupons. Manufacturers coupons are the ones you get out of the paper or print from your computer. Store coupons can sometimes be found in the paper too but they are most often found in the store or the store’s website. While manufacturers coupons can be used at any store, of course store coupons can only be used at that particular store UNLESS another store accepts them.

For Ex. Publix takes Target and Kroger coupons. 😉

You usually can’t combine manufacturers coupons for the same item but you CAN combine manufacturers and store coupons for the same item.

So make sure, in addition to checking the paper for coupons, you always check the coupon websites for more manufacturers coupons as well as inside the store and the store website for store coupons that can be combined with your manufacturer ones.

The second key is to check, always always check, the weekly sales paper for the store(s) you’ll be shopping at. Why??

If you have a manufacturer’s coupon for $0.50 off one tuna and a store coupon for $0.50 tuna, that equals $1.00 off right. If tuna is regularly $1.39 you get a tuna for $0.39 but if tuna is on sale for $1.00 you now only have to pay for the taxes. Let’s say tuna is on sale for $0.89 now you have money you can credit towards the purchase of something else…but how would you know if you didn’t check the sales paper and just went shopping blindly?

I totally racked up on bogo (buy one get one) deals today and what I discovered is that if you have a coupon where you have to buy two of the product (ex. $0.75 off two yogurts) you still get the amount off PLUS the one free so it turns out being the amount ($0.75) off one. Again, deals I wouldn’t have been able to take advantage if I hadn’t looked at thow I could couple the current deals with my coupons.

The good thing is with all the technology in the world, you no longer ‘have’ to rely on sales papers… weekly ads can now be found online and within store mobile apps.

Lastly, you want to know if where you shop doubles coupons as well as the largest amount they double. Publix doubles up to $0.50 so I get double savings on any coupons (that allow doubling) that are $0.50 or less off. So where I go into the store looking to only save $0.50 I now have saved $1.00.

So to answer the question… Yes. Coupon!

That’s it, hope it helps! Come back and let me know how you do!

2 thoughts on “To Coupon or Not To Coupon?

  1. Great article. It inspires me to clip coupons and experience the savings like you have experienced. I use to clip, but for some reason, I have not been clipping as much as I should. After reading your article, I am going back to clipping and using my coupons on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

